The 8th District Republican Congressional Committee met on Saturday, November 6, 2021 to hold an election of officers.  The meeting was made necessary by the recent redistricting of the 8th Congressional District by the Indiana General Assembly.  Redistricting added one county and portions of two others to the Congressional District which now has all or parts of twenty-one counties. Redistricting occurs following each decennial Census.

Don Hayes of Dubois County was elected Chairman of the Committee.  Hayes served for over 27 years as Chairman of the Dubois County Republican Party and previously served as Vice-Chairman of the 9th District Republicans when Dubois County was in that District.  This is the second term for Hayes as 8th District Chairman.

Elected Vice-Chairman was Brenda Goff of Posey County.  Mrs. Goff has served as Chairman of the Posey County Republican Party and is active in the Indiana Federation of Republican Women.  Linda Painter, Chairman of the Knox County Republican Party, was elected Treasurer of the Congressional District Committee.  Mike Myers, Secretary of the Daviess County GOP was elected to serve as Secretary for the District.

In addition to the election of officers, the 8th District Committee adopted a series of organizational Resolutions and a budget and finance plan for 2022.  Members also signed up for sub-committees and completed a survey regarding proposed activities.  The meeting ended with a meal and reports from each county represented.